Your Donation Will Be Used To Pay For our ever increasing bandwidth costs, our hosting Service, domain registration, software licensing fees, maintenance costs and product evaluations Only!
Please enter your donation amount above, and then click on the donate button below.
I just wanted to inform our members who have cars or other valuables for sale in the classifieds that there are some people on this board (as there are on almost every board) trying to run 419 scams.
I got an email today from edwcrouch_us@operamail.com, expressing interest in my classified ad here on Caymanclub, he wanted details and photos and a bottom line price. The message was sent through the website's email system. I provided him as such and then he sent me a follow-up email agreeing to the price and then giving me the classic 419 approach that he has a client (or agent) in the US who owes him $19,xxx and the cashiers check is already cut (other scammers say that they were trying to buy another car for that amount but the deal fell through.) and all you have to do is deposit the check and wire the remaining balance to them. The scammer on this website went as far as to say that it takes 24 hours for a cashiers check to get to cleared and he wants the wire transfer sent in 24 hours. This is not true; however, the check they send is an out of state check and takes several days to truly clear.
I got this all the time from autotrader, and actually went along with one just to see how far the scammer would go. I received a cashiers check from them, and you it looked very legit, it was from Chase and had the watermarks and everything. However, you can tell it's a fake because it's a U.S. check but it comes from an international address with int'l postage! So, I emailed him and told him his check did not clear after one week and that he should call me... and he actually did!!! He told me he did not know what went wrong and he will send another check lol.
Just wanted to make you guys aware in case you put a car, or something else valuable, in the classifieds section.
Ken, I hope you boot the user, I'm sure you can find him by email; the messaging system didn't send me his user-name.
I also got an e-mail from edwcrouch_us@operamail.com regarding the wheels I have posted in the classifieds. He asked if they were still for sale and wanted more pictures (which I sent). Haven't heard anything back yet...but it's probably the middle of the night where ever this scammer is hiding. Thanks for the heads up Suneet!!!
His username is "edwcrouch_us"
He just registered today. If he is not legit I can ban his account, but of course a determined spammer would continue to come back...
__________________
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. | To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. | To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. | To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
K-Man S To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
No problem I figured he sent a couple out to see if he could get someone to bite.
scam.com is a great resource for info on scams, they have a sticky on 419 scams. I was taking a comparative politics class on Nigeria; which is where I first heard about 419 scams because it makes up a big chunk of their GDP.
This is one of the reasons I hate selling things online - con artists.
I have a pair of sport seats for sale in the classifieds section. I get this message from the
Black Sport Seats w/ Porsche Crest
Please confirm availability of this ad, send me recent pictures, last asking price and detailed information.
Sounds like a real inquiry right? We go around a few times and I give him a price. This is the response:
Hello Terry, Thanks for your mail i want you to know that the price $x,xxx is okay with me.In respect of payment i have a client in the U.S who is owing me $5,510.All i need to do to make payment easier and faster is to instruct him to issue a cashiers check and mail it to you on the address and name you want on the check and you know it takes 24hrs for a cashiers check to clear in the U.S. But i would want to know if i can trust you to send my balance to me via western union or money gram after the money must have cleared in your bank to enable me prepay the shipping company here so that they can instruct their office in the U.S to come for the pick-up from your location.pls mail me asap to enable me arrange payment.Furnish me with your name and address,so i will forward it to my client for payment.
Best Regards,
Edward Crouch
edwcrouch_us@operamail.com
My reply was simple - "Kindly F*ck Off"
What kind of idiot falls for these scams?
Before someone brings it up - Ken has no control over this kind of BS. It's just part of life on the web. Suck it up, get used to it.
LoL damn man, I just told him they weren't for sale anymore. I got the exact same emails though, I think he's using a template.
You'd be surprised how many people actually DO fall for these... especially when they first started a couple years ago. Like I said in my other post, I have one of their cashiers check and it looks pretty real, I keep it as a gag to show friends, it's a cashiers check for $22k lol. None of them can tell it's a fake.